Absinthe Art, Deliriumified

For a while now, I’ve enjoyed the art and style of pre-1920’s vintage
advertising art for beverages, usually aperitifs such as Campari and Martini & Rossi. Having named a recent song Absinthe Cola, I figured that the wealth of absinthe-related art would be a good place to start for new imagery for Delirium Dog. I’m not sure if I’m going to run in this direction or not, but I can at least share my first attempt.

This Absinthe Cola poster takes an early sketch (sometime between 1898 and 1901) and gives it a delirium spin. The work-in-progress and the original are below. Please leave your impressions in the comments.

Delirium Dog Absinthe Cola (Poster Mock-up)

The original work:

UPDATE: feedback from some Facebook followers moved me to revise the text.

3 Responses to “Absinthe Art, Deliriumified”

  1. I can’t see the original for some reason.

  2. Oh, drag. It’s being linked to from another site and it’s not playing nice with you. You can check it out here:
    http://www.oxygenee.com/absinthe/posters7.html

    • It’s hard for me to compare the two while scrolling up and down, but initial impressions are that I like the first attempt best. Of course by now, you may have printed the album and sold billions of copies, for all I know. Little slow on the draw here.

Leave a Reply

